Categories
PHOTOGRAPHY STYLE

Caroline Lawson Photography

image1-2

As a sophomore at Appalachian State University, Caroline Lawson has entered the photography field without bounds. Combining natural, modern elements she has an innate eye for aesthetically appealing concepts and is fearless to exploring new opportunity with each shoot.

What sparked or began your interest in photography?
I’ve always been interested in the arts and I grew up painting and drawing. I got a job as a photographer at the Nantahala Outdoot Center when I was 16 and immediately fell in love with it and knew I wanted to pursue it.
 
What style is your favorite? Why?
Originally I focused on landscape but fashion has rapidly evolved to be my favorite. I love photographing people so a focus on fashion has made an interesting and fun way of capturing people.
 
What do you look towards for inspiration?
I look at social media sites such as Tumblr and Pinterest mostly for inspiration but I’ll also look at the websites of famous photographers just to see what kinds of photographs they’ve been producing recently.
 
What challenges you the most?
Currently what’s been challenging me the most is finding a place to photograph fashion since I don’t have access to the studio yet.
 
Where do you see yourself headed within the industry?
I would love to be able to travel for photography so networking and working with other photographers in different countries would be my dream.
 
Best piece of advice you’ve received
I actually saw this quote online but I loved it, it said “photograph in the way you feel is right, not the way you think you ought to.”
 
What advice would you give to someone aspiring to extend their skills with photography?
I would tell people to try every type of photography because you could surprise yourself with what style can enhance your skills and become your favorite.

By elizabethkeeter

Appalachian State University
Apparel Design & Merchandising Major, Marketing Minor
Sigma Kappa Sorority

Leave a comment